Skip to main content


State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness

The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) in the 2011-2012 school year. New ninth-grade students that entered high school in 2011-2012 and beyond fall under the STAAR testing system and graduation requirements. Current high school students who entered prior to 2011-2012 will remain under the TAKS system and their existing graduation requirements.

STAAR includes more difficult testing methods and requires a higher level of student performance. There is also be a four-hour time limit for the STAAR grades 3–8 assessments and the STAAR EOC assessments.

For more information please visit the STAAR page on the TEA website

Elementary and Jr. High Assessments include:

  • 3rd grade Mathematics and Reading
  • 4th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
  • 5th grade Mathematics, Reading and Science
  • 6th grade Mathematics and Reading
  • 7th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
  • 8th grade Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies and Science

High School: STAAR will begin for new ninth-graders in 2011-2012 with
5 end-of-course (EOC) exams that will be required for graduation:

  • Math: Algebra I
  • Science: Biology
  • English Language Arts: English I, English II 
  • Social Studies: U.S. History

Special Populations: STAAR will include additional test formats to
accommodate special education students and English Language Learners:
   STAAR Alternate